County Missouri
 Presiding Commissioner to resign Click for more Info

County Commissioners

Presiding Commissioner

Western Commissioner

Eastern Commissioner

Contact Us

Johnson County Courthouse

County Commissioners

300 N. Holden St.

Warrensburg, MO 64093

Commissioner's Office is located on the Main Floor of the Johnson Co. Courthouse.


Phone: 660-747-2112

In session: Mon, Tues, and Thurs 8:30 - 4:00

Click on names to the left to email.


The Presiding Commissioner for Johnson County is William Gabel, who took office in 2011.

The Western Commissioner is Charles Kavanaugh, who recently took office in 2017.  The Western District includes the townships of Jackson (Pittsville), Columbus, Kingsville, Madison, Centerview, Rose Hill, Chilhowee and a portion of Warrensburg. 

The Eastern Commissioner is John Marr elected in 2017.  The Eastern District includes the townships of Hazel Hill, Simpson, Grover (Lowland), Washington (Knob Noster), Montserrat, Post Oak, Jefferson and the remaining portion of Warrensburg.


County Commissioners duties include the following:


  • Supervise county road and bridge maintenance.
  • Approves the county operating budget 2018 Budget | 2019 Budget | 2020 Budget
  • Neighborhood Improvement Districts.
  • Improve county ordinances and sets speed limits on county roads.
  • Appoints county boards.



"Democracy is the government of the people, by the people for the people." 
 Abraham Lincoln